Students studying in library

Accreditation and Assessment

Institutional Accreditation

The University of St. Thomas has maintained continuous accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) since 1916. HLC is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as an institutional accreditor.

Institutional accreditation by the HLC provides assurance to prospective students and other constituents that course credits and degrees earned from the institution meet quality standards of higher education.

In addition, institutional accreditation assures quality by verifying that an institution is engaged in continuous improvement. HLC evaluates each institution on its academic offerings, governance and administration, mission, finances, and resources.

Reaffirmation of Accreditation

The University of St. Thomas has been approved for the ‌ for Reaffirmation of Accreditation. The two components of the Open Pathway are the Assurance Review and the Quality Initiative.

St. Thomas had its accreditation re-affirmed by HLC in 2024. St. Thomas will undergo an Assurance Review in 2027-2028.

Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, Illinois 60604-1411
Toll Free: 800-621-7440

Assessment Program

The program to assess student learning is an integral part of the university's commitment to excellent teaching and effective learning. Learn more about our approach and learning outcomes.

Ƶ Office of Higher Education (MOHE)

The University of St. Thomas is registered with the Ƶ Office of Higher Education pursuant to sections 136A.61 to 136A.71. Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions. Contact information for the Ƶ Office of Higher Education is:

1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
St. Paul, MN 55108-5227
Phone: (651) 642-0567
Toll Free: (800) 657-3866
Fax: (651) 642-0675

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA)

Federal regulations require institutions that provide distance education to students residing outside of the institution's home state to seek state authorization with the states from which they enroll students or participate in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA). SARA is a voluntary agreement among the 49 member states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands that permits certain types of educational activities without requiring institutions to seek state-by-state authorization. (Information on SARA can be found at .) The University of St. Thomas has been approved by the Ƶ Office of Higher Education to participate in SARA. Currently, all states except for California are members of SARA. Although California is not part of SARA, California does not regulate out-of-state, non-profit accredited institutions and St. Thomas is able to provide distance education to students who are in that state with the caveat that students and institutions are not bound to SARA regulations.

Contact Us